What makes love last?

Anonymous Photo

‘They” say that the passion of early love can never be sustained.
But I have seen and met the contradictions to that.
They are just as in love with each other today as they were in the 30, 40, 50, even 60 years that they spent together.
And what makes them different than all the other people that DONT have that?

There are a few things that I have observed
about the quality of their interactions and have learned from asking the why’s:

* They seek each other’s eyes in a crowded room.
* They touch each other often.
* They sing each other’s praises to anyone who will listen.
* They marvel at the wonder that the other is and they never lose sight of that.
* They forgive the faults as part of the whole and love them even more for them.
* They are protective of each other.
* They are not jealous of the other – they have no need to be, because they know where the other’s heart is.
* They share secrets with each other and show each other the good in things and people.
* They cry together.
* And most of all, if given a choice of anything and anyone and anywhere that they could be…they choose to be with the other joyously – not resignedly or with any reservations at all.

And the love that they share spills over onto everyone around them.

5 Responses

  1. I LOVE IT!!! and I love those snails.

  2. When I read this I think of my grandparents. I don’t know who you meant this for, if anyone, but its nice. I like it and find it to be true myself too. I can relate.

  3. this is very interesting, since i really want to experience such kinda love…
    love to me is something that very far from my reach,, how can i experienced if my love is like when you clap with one hand.. no sound… useless… Is it OK for me to wait 4 one i love?
    i never feel this kind of love before… i really hate marriage…(i think it is useless).. but, if he ask me to marry him today i will say “i do”… this love which is growing in my heart is a different type of love.. and i could not recognize it. what should i do???
    your post is really lovely.. n i love it…
    (i’m practicing english now, so i’m so sorry if you could not really understand what i really intend to say)

  4. Beautifully said. Thanks!

Leave a comment