New Year!

“We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched.

Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives… not looking for flaws, but for potential.”

Ellen Goodman

It really has it been THAT long since I’ve posted! Wow. Seriously, wow. So much for posting as things come up. I can only sheepishly offer the pathetic excuse of the holidaze. It is what it is and regardless…I’m back for the moment. 😀

I read the quote above on New Year’s Day and I tried it on for size.  It fit. Like a glove. I never really thought of a new year as anything but a new beginning and a chance to improve upon past years. Not in a bar-too-high way. More in a I-probably-COULD-get-up-30-minutes-earlier sort of way.

I know I try not to “should” all over myself. Doesn’t really do alot of good, other than make me feel like I’m just not cutting it.

So in the spirit of the quote, I’ll look for the potential. It’s all about perspectives anyway, isn’t it?

The pipe freezing and water damage to my side of the master closet and down the garage wall?

Its an opportunity to clear out my closet and reorganize the garage (who knows? maybe even make it clear enough to put a CAR into! I dream big!)

The news at Christmas that a close family member has a incurable disease and a very short time left?

Its an opportunity to count each day as a gift and appreciate the things I am ABLE to do – then go out and try and use those abilities to help other people.

Do you see what I mean? I really do believe that everything and everyone has flaws and cracks and brokeness – its what we DO with these things that makes our lives and situations for the good or not.

So I resolve this new year to be more lenient with myself and with others – to find the potential in each and every “bad” thing that happens. Because seeing life as a series of tragedies and drama, without realizing that at the heart of anything is the potential for unimaginably great things is not a life I want to live.  And why not start looking at things differently THIS year? THIS day?

(As a side note, this also alleviates my need to “vow” to do better at posting every day! How about instead I will try and enjoy each and every moment life has and when I can, I’ll come and share it?  Yes. I think I like this new way of things!)

Namaste,

~me

2 Responses

  1. more lenient…. yip, that’s doable.

  2. OH my gosh…was the frozen pipe and leak, the spot we saw in the garage when we were putting the tree up ?

    You BETCHA it was! Good thing we saw it and covered it up with the tree, huh? LoL!!

Leave a Reply

