Perseverance IS a Lesson

Earlier today, I had the opportunity to discuss the topic of navigating when life throws you a curve ball. Perseverance was brought up. Hindsight offering a better perspective than the current reality could was also mentioned. For me, that’s what I call my learning “curve” in life.

Life's PathIf I look back on the moments in my life, I can see those curves in the road. Blind curves that I couldn’t see until I was swinging wide to the right or left. You know. The moments when I think, “This changes everything” or “I can’t see my way out”. Its that free-fall feeling; an anxiety and fear driven uncertainty of what the outcome will be, because I can’t even imagine how it could possibly EVER work out! But it ends up working out in a way that wasn’t even a blip on my imaginary horizon and infinitely better than anything that I could come up with in my catastrophizing “what if“s! Besides, what am I guaranteed besides THIS moment, really?!

If I’m not experiencing highs and lows in life, then I’m a flat line – and everybody knows a flat line means I’m dead! There are those things that can make me lose all perspective – things that I cannot possibly wrap my finite brain around. I just have to have faith that something good will come of it all. More times than not I’m left with faith being the only alternative, with the understanding that when I’ve moved out of and past “IT”, that I can look back with those high definition hindsight goggles and SEE what lesson there was in it all. I mean, if I’m not learning something from all these mistakes then what’s it all for?

My quote of the day comes today from Angie. Throwing her two cents in, she said,

Sometimes there isn’t any lesson … sometimes the only lesson is perseverance.

That has been pinging around my mind all day! Because there are those events in life that I look back on – look for the lesson – and have to acknowledge that while I believe there are no mistakes in life, I may just have to wait until I’m done here to understand why some things happen. And maybe the only gain is a little bit more faith. 🙂

I’m still here, which means that the next time I get thrown a curve, I remember that while I may not see the solution, I DO remember this feeling from that last curve and hey! I survived that, didn’t I? Each night is followed by day…each down by an up…and as long as I’m breathing in and out, my life will continue to ebb and flow. 

Reminds me of a post I wrote almost 7 years ago on my first blog entitled “Snow Globe Effect Perspective

I am one of those people,
when someone begins to speak
mentally “see” my own version of the subject matter.
(I hope other people do that too)
So what?” you may wonder.
Recently, I was privileged to be in the company of others
who were discussing the topic of perspectives.
Snow Globe PerspectiveMy internal theater screen flickered to life
filling my head with a image of myself,
in the center of a snowglobe.
“Snow” was swirling and circling my head.
I could not see beyond it to the world that lies through the glass.
My perspective and vantage point were snowblind
Now the bitch of it is
I’M the one who shook the freakin globe!
I could hear a faint familiar voice,
“…our troubles, we think, are of our own making…”
Yeah,yeah,yeah.
Creating blizzards of emotional chaos
Seems to be a natural gift I have been bestowed with.
Getting out of the way of The Source,
Trusting that It knows the way
out of the blinding storms I create in my little world,
Allowing myself to be led
Despite the fear of the unknown
Confidence that all is as it should be
and will be
And capitulating to this certainty
That is SO hard!
The thematic lesson that keeps thrusting itself into my path?
FAITH
Should be simple, right?
Experience has taught me time and time again
No matter how much “snow” blinds me…
No matter how much I want to manipulate my way into it…
No matter how much I fight…
or conversely want to give in-just give up…
If I just wait-
If I just be still and have FAITH
It always turns out better than I could fathom
Life comes back to me higher
than the limits of my imagination
Only, being in the middle of that snowglobe,
I can’t SEE that
until the I can look back in hindsight.
To sum it up in one neat lil package:
“…cause I gotta have Faith, Faith, Faith…”
::SIGH::
~Me

Namaste,

~me

One Response

  1. Perseverance is the lesson? Perhaps. It is also the reward. Good thoughts!

Leave a Reply

