My Own Guesthouse

My Imaginary Guesthouse
My Imaginary Guesthouse
©2009 L2BPhotography
~ Photo from a trip to the Fairhope Art Festival

I found this article in my reader. (Great place to find all SORTS of way cool reading material, by the way!)

What caught my attention was seeing the name “Rumi”, who is one of my favorite poets.  🙂

It tied into a topic of discussion that I participated in this morning. Going into the whole discussion would make this long post even longer, so in the spirit of brevity, let me pass on what I came away with that flows so well with this passage and article:

When I get to feeling irritated, impatient, and generally intolerant of those who are part of my world, the source isn’t them. Its usually inside of me.  Moreover, when I began to find myself feeling these things, a BRIGHT RED FLAG goes up in my mind, signaling me to stop and take a look at what’s going on inside. The common factor to all of these situations and feelings is me.

So while its much easier to point the finger at YOU and tell you why what you’re doing is irritating me, the harder but vastly more beneficial thing for me to do is to take stock inside and see what I’m leaving undone. What am I afraid of?

Pulling my fears out into the light of reason tends to dispel the shadows of doubts that lurk in the peripherals of my heart and soul. It frees me up to be able to contribute and find joy in the moments my day is giving me.

Love me some Rumi! 😉

Peace,

~me

This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

Article written by Alex Blackwell,The Bridgemaker

In the poem, The Guest House, Rumi uses the metaphor of a house guest to create an image that each day we have the opportunity to welcome something new into our lives, even if it is unexpected. And just like actual house guests can cause us to feel uncomfortable with their visit, unwelcome feelings that stop by our house, our life, can be just as exasperating.

We wait impatiently for these house guests to leave so we can put our house back just like it was before they arrived. However, underneath the irritation can live incredible value when we take the time to receive these guests with humility and courage.

Rumi’s poem is a good reminder to embrace change, face our fears and use our bodies as a guest house to welcome whatever, and whoever, drops-in on us from time-to-time:

The Guest House
This being human is a guest house.
Every morning a new arrival.

A joy, a depression, a meanness,
some momentary awareness comes
as an unexpected visitor.

Welcome and entertain them all!
Even if they’re a crowd of sorrows,
who violently sweep your house
empty of its furniture,
still, treat each guest honorably.
He may be clearing you out
for some new delight.

The dark thought, the shame, the malice,
meet them at the door laughing,
and invite them in.

Be grateful for whoever comes,
because each has been sent
as a guide from beyond.
Jelaluddin Rumi

3 Responses

  1. LOL I finally figured out how to use the FB link thingy. I found the View The Original Post clickage thing. LOL YAY me!

    HA ZAH!!!! 🙂 I knew you could figure it out 😉

  2. Love the picture. Greg and I have this exact same picture (granted the position of camera is a little different) It is almost magical.
    I am grateful to have you as my friend LeLe

  3. Coke and Rumi anyone? 🙂

Leave a Reply

