Just Do It

Just DO it!

Just DO it!

You’ll seldom experience regret for anything that you’ve done.
It is what you haven’t done that will torment you.
The message, therefore, is clear.
Do it!
Develop an appreciation for the present moment.
Seize every second of your life and savor it. ~Dr. Wayne Dyer
I have spent the summer months taking this message, in its various forms, to heart.  I did NOT spend as much time in front of my computer as I have in the past, opting instead for having some “me and you time” with my family and friends. Mostly family.
Nothing elaborate, mind you. Silly things like hanging out in the kitchen while making something or watching TV while snuggling on the couch or visiting family in not too distant cities or goofy golf outings or running errands with my youngest (who never wanted to go before now! Go figure…).

In each activity I made a conscious choice to try and slow down – appreciate whatever opportunities were there to be had. Laughter… easy conversations… listening… learning more about these people who are traveling through this life with me.
And when I felt myself slipping into what is familiar to me – the half-listening, making lists in my head of what I “needed” to get done, and the myriad of other ways I slip out of the moment –  I sometimes would stop myself and say to myself,

“Hey! YOU! You may not get this opportunity again, silly woman!  Everything will get done that needs to, in its own timeline! But you are NOT guaranteed a ‘later’ with your family or friends.  Especially your children. Focus on now.”

Don’t get me wrong – we have days where we co-exist peacefully by minimally interacting! You stay in your rooms, I’ll stay out of them. The kids ARE teenagers, after all! LoL 🙂  But when I’m approached and invited to be a part of their worlds, I’d like to know that I willingly (note: that does NOT mean impatiently or begrudgingly) stop what I’m doing and enjoy and engage in LIFE.  Because having one who has already grown up and is out on her own, I know that these moments are followed by time filled with friends and school, then off to college, with the perfunctory occasional “visits home”.

The days of invitation are swift and precious and become memories in the wake of our lives.
I think the memories of this past summer are some that I can reflect on without too much regret of missed things! I hope anyone reading this, by doing so, will seek the same.

Leaving you with an excerpt from some prose I penned and posted in the past – about time that was well spent on people passing through my life, missed in my world today:
The winds of time blow freely through the hole left in my life,

but the experience!

Would I be able to hear the song played out in the whistling through that gap
…without having had it all?”

Enjoy your day! Literally 😉
Peace,
~me
3 Responses

  1. that quote is worth remembering.

  2. Hi,
    see you are also a Dr.W.Dyer fanatic?
    Maybe we have a lot in common and I ould appreciate it, if you can click on my blog, which is realativly new and I am still figuring out how to go about…
    But nevertheless, it fun and brings me joy.
    Only I never had any traffic yet, thats why I changed to wrodpress, maybe this helps….it gets frustrating if noboby visits your blog….
    Love and Light
    Claudia

    You didn’t list your web address! It really helps for traffic if you list your url 😉

  3. Staying in the now and giving each person your full attention is the gift you give to them, ya know?
    Acknowledging their presence in your life is an affirmation of sorts. “I see you, do you see me?” It’s all so very important but not to easy at first.
    You too, are traveling in my soul’s space here on earth. I see you. You, my dear, are beautiful.

    WoW Angie! That is one of best compliments I’ve ever heard, much less received!! 🙂 And I’d like to think that when you see me, you see a reflection of all the people who’ve also been a part of my journey – including you! Thank you, Angie. I’m grateful to have you in my life too!

Leave a Reply

