It’s All Relative

I’m reading My Sister’s Keeper” and I have to keep putting it down for extended periods for reasons both intentional and unintentional.

I love that the story is told from the perspective of all of the characters except the central character. I so enjoy seeing the world from different perspectives (which I suppose, now that I’m thinking it, is why I enjoy reading blogs).  It’s told with enough clarity that when I put it down this morning, it was to pull myself togeather before waking my children up. (Nothing quite as frightening as Mom with swollen red eyes and a Rudolph-esque nose to drag you from dreaming!)

I keep finding passages that I think, “Ooo! Now that one would be good to quote!”

One passage in particular that I read this morning actually relates back to a conversation I was having with my own children:

We were discussing my excitement over something that my youngest drolly pointed out was my “age showing” (meaning, of course, that I was acting too silly). Responding, I asked her how old, exactly, did she think I was inside this body?

My Grandmother & youngest '96

My Grandmother & youngest '96

And I reminded her that her great-grandmother said much the same to me when I asked her on her 85th birthday how 85 felt. She told me to look in her eyes, past all the wrinkles. As I looked into them, she said, “Darlin, I don’t feel any older than I did when I was 18!”

Here’s the quote  from the book, which I took with me throughout my day:

Once at a dinner party, I heard my father say that even though he was old old old, in his heart he was twenty-one.  So maybe there’s a place in your life that you wear out like a rut, or even better, like the soft spot on the couch. And no matter what else happens to you, you come back to that.

~Anna,  My Sister’s Keeper

Peace,

~me

One Response

  1. Then you would love Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver. I saw the previews to My SIster’s Keeper and it looks like a tear jerker for sure and I don’t know if I can watch it. I’m reading Julie/Julia and waiting for THAT movie to come out August 7th!!!!

Leave a Reply

