A Mother’s Day to Remember

I look forward to Mother’s Day every year for a variety of reasons. My children polishing their halos for a day, for instance ๐Ÿ˜‰ ! Every Mother’s Day, I get reminded again just how fortunate and blessed I am to have such incredible individuals in my life. I cannot imagine my life without them and the joy that they bring. NOT to say they don’t have those moments where their halos fall askew. I just think that as a mom, I love them through those trials and try to help them learn to right themselves. I realized long ago that just as I don’t belong to my parents, they don’t belong to me either and the same Grace that carries me also shelters them. The love, however, remains the same.

This Mother’s Day was special.

This year, after a 24 year, 5 months, and 13 days (I wasn’t counting at all!) I had the opportunity to celebrate Mother’s Day with my ALL my family – including my first born for the first time. ๐Ÿ™‚

Meet Megan.

October 1984

October 1984

24 years, 4 months, & 15 days

24 years, 4 months, & 15 days Later

I’m not going to tell the whole story (I’m going to write it up as a story), but the condensed version is that when I was younger, I made some poor judgment calls while under the influence that resulted in my becoming a teen pregnancy statistic.( <-That is the light version of my actual time spent with the Dark Side, but for these purposes, it’s right on the money!)

On my birthday this year, shortly after midnight on my actual birthday, I found my daughter that I had given up for adoption in 1984. It was through an adoption reunion site I had registered on back in 2002, but it was on FaceBook (of all places) that we re-connected. Through a series of undeniable Grace and serendipity, I had the honor of making her acquaintance and subsequently met and put my arms around her again, after years of hoping such a day would come. One of those serendipitous moments was this post, which I had written for her on her birthday in acknowledgment of her place in my heart. She was one of my “anonymous readers” of this blog and when she saw this, she knew that it would be okay to contact me and began drafting a letter of introduction.

This is also one of the reasons I’ve been a bit distracted from posting as of late. Eventually I’ll get back to my rhythm, but I’ve been processing, incorporating, and enjoying this new addition to my world and I say it unapologetically.

So HAPPY BELATED MOTHER’S DAY to all of you moms out there!!

I hope your day was filled with the joy of knowing that as moms, we have the unequaled honor of being given the opportunity to bring life and joy into this world. Bestowed upon me by undeserved Grace, I truly feel awed and humbled when I consider that I somehow had a small part in bringing these incredible people into being. ๐Ÿ™‚ย  I love them ineffably.

My kiddos

My kiddos

And I LOVE being a mom!!

Peace,

~me

6 Responses

  1. Just got a boatload of goose bumps and what is this moisture in my eyes???!

  2. Awesome!! Grace is an amazing thing…:)

  3. oh wow, how beautiful. you’ve got me in tears…

  4. All I can say is WOW! You are an amazing mom and woman of Christ. Let’s have coffee and conversation soon.

  5. Hey Leigh!!
    What an answer to long awaited prayers! I hope she fills you with more joy and contenetment and adds more beauty to your lovely family! I hope to see you soon. R

  6. Leigh, Leigh. I was there with you both in October 1984 when that photo was taken. This is such an awesome testimony God’s amazing grace. I am overjoyed for you both. Love you! Lee

Leave a Reply

