Friendly Friday

Thank you, Larry, for sending this friendly award!

I appreciate the kindness and intend to pay it forward.

love_ya_award1“These blogs are exceedingly charming. These kind bloggers aim to find and be friends. They are not interested in self-aggrandizement. Our hope is that when the ribbons of these prizes are cut, even more friendships are propagated. Please give more attention to these writers. Deliver this award to eight bloggers who must choose eight more and include this cleverly-written text into the body of their award.”

What a warm way to start what looks to be a VERY warm weekend! 🙂 I believe I saw that our temperatures have decided to skip the 70’s entirely and head right into the mid 80’s.

Luckily, we have an outdoor way to begin our weekend: Littlest and I went to sign up for the inaugural Youth Volunteer Corp in our community a few weekends ago. (Ok, technically I only signed up to be a “supervising adult”…apparently I was disqualified from the youth portion of it!) So tomorrow morning we will be meeting the other volunteers early to go clean up the old cemetery. Its a beautiful old cemetery where some of the tombstones date back over 100 years! Its just a few hours of raking and clearing weeds and whatnot, but how cool is THAT?! 🙂  I plan on staying and seeing if there may be some good black and white photo opps while I’m there.

cemetary2Here’s a couple that I took a few years ago at the same cemetery on a morning when it was densely foggy –  not great ones, but considering they were spontaneous pictures, I like ’em. 🙂cemetary1

I don’t know if I actually KNOW 8 bloggers to bestow this award upon, so here’s a few that I do read that would qualify. Read regularly. Bloggers whose posts make me smile, laugh, think, cry – who move me, motivate me,  or buoy my spirits. Maybe take a look around their blogs yourself! Enjoy:

C.A. at Southern Sinful Biss

Michele at A Year of Art

Mama Zen at The Zen of Motherhood

ToBeMe at The Naked Soul

Mr.AtoZ at Freshness Factor Five Thousand

Shadow at One Door Away From Heaven PartII

Writer Chick at Writer Chick Talks

Angie at Pick My Brains Art

Peace,

~me

2 Responses

  1. congratulations to you, and thank you for passing it on to me. i much appreciate it. now have a super warm weekend!!!

  2. Hi,
    Thank you so much for honoring me. I’m sorry but I’ve been a bit out of touch because I’ve been traveling so much. I appreciate it very much.

    BTW, I think the bw photos are damn good for spontaneous snaps. I’ve gotten into amateur photography myself recently and it is quite addictive isn’t it? Especially the bw’s.

    Annie

    Ooooohhh, YES! “Addictive” would cover it nicely, I think! 😉
    No apologies are necessary – hopefully life keeps us busy enough that postings are incidental, rather than perfunctory!
    As to being amateur? I identified myself thus when introducing myself to a photographer I found online through Stumble Upon (Named Ben – see sidebar for a link). He had some AMAZING macros and I wanted to ask questions about how he’d created such cool images. His reply to me (which was the beginning of a wonderful online friendship) was this:
    “In our Anglo-Saxon societies the term ‘amateur’ is usually used in a derogatory sense to suggest a level of ineptitude. However the word is in fact derived from the Latin ‘amator’ – which literally means lover, devoted friend, enthusiastic pursuer of an objective – essentially someone who engages in an activity out of love rather than for profit or acclaim. I tend to favour the latter definition and thus have no reluctance in using the word to describe myself!

    Yes. That.
    Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

