Celebrating Sally Sunshine

Today is one of my favorite people’s birthday!! (Random side musing: Hmm…I wonder if her parents could see the irony in the date they welcomed her into the world? Seems pretty fitting, given the amazing pheonix that emerged from the ashes a few years ago…)

Now, I have been blessed in so many ways in my life, but no thing can compare to the gift of people. This particular person brings so very much to the lives of those around her (as any one of us can attest to…and DO!)

A few years ago when I met her, I wasn’t so sure who it was I was becoming acquainted with. I’ll be the first to admit that while I was a bit unsure as to how good of friends we might become, I had no doubt that friends we would be! I wish now I could remember the exact moment when she became a part of my world, but as I can’t, her birthday will have to suffice to celebrate her place in my life!

She lights up a room when she enters it, though she seems completely unaware of the effect she has. She has an energy that draws you in even before you know her.

She brings COLOR and MUSIC and LAUGHTER.

She is unpretentious, bluntly being exactly who she is without apology or fanfare, be it a bright and shiny or dark and stormy.

Tempered with a proper Southern upbringing, of course.

Extraordinary. Kind.

Sassy.

Strong.

Fierce in defense of those she cares about.

Passionate

about matters close to her heart. And its in those strengths her vulnerability and empathy and compassion show themselves the most. πŸ™‚

I’ve often been asked by people who don’t know her to describe her and I trip over words – they never seem to do justice to all that she is!

So today I’m celebrating the day that the world was graced by Michele. I am SOoooo glad our paths crossed and that we are friends!!

Happy Birthday Shelly!!

(Click on her name and go wish her a happy one!)

I love you.

πŸ™‚

Peace & Joy,

~me

4 Responses

  1. I NEVER in my wildest dreams thought that I would have friends again…or better yet a friend so very special as you my Le Le. You have broought tears of joy to my heart and eyes this morning. Thank you for seeing me in a way that I do not see myself. This girl of whom you speak ….seems pretty….well….cool:)
    I love you!

  2. Happy Birthday Shelly! I know Leigh said to go over and tell you on your blog, and I did, but wanted to do it here too. Cause I know you’ll read it. Also sending you a text.

  3. Wait a minute…..April Fool’s day is your birthday? For real? LOL

  4. Oh and wow Leigh, what a tribute.

Leave a Reply

