Reading Books Like Tea Leaves

How about this quote?

“All the books we own, both read and unread, are the fullest expression of self we have at our disposal. … But with each passing year, and with each whimsical purchase, our libraries become more and more able to articulate who we are, whether we read the books or not.”  – Nick Hornby

I found this quote and began looking at the shelves of books I have – both read and unread. How true it is! I know I often look at the titles, imagining why they chose what they did. Then I look at my own and wonder what somebody else would discover about me by doing the same. Changes my perspective a bit.

What’s on YOUR shelves and what does it say about you? Try looking at the books on your shelves as though you were a stranger – what would your shelves tell me about you? 🙂

read

Peace,

~me

4 Responses

  1. but an even better measure is the books you go back to. The ones you read and re-read, burn into your mind consciousness. These books represent a form of self-programming … of ideas, images, and thoughts. I could probably list about 30 of such works that have been of such an influence on me 🙂

    I completely agree! And after reading some of the comments, I believe I will revisit this topic with a summary of what I have found 🙂
    Thank you for your comment – it has added a bit more depth to the challenge and broadened it 🙂

  2. this is a very interesting and intriguing proposition you have here… let me investigate…

  3. I’m afraid a visitor to my bookshelves would think me a bit scattered, considering the variety they’d find!

    “Eclectic”, Tom, is the word I would use over scattered 😉 Thanks for commenting!

  4. OK, this makes me want to start KEEPING my books to myself now. LOL No more sharing and letting them out of the house! Wait, I have no where to put/store/stack them. We have no book shelves – HOW can that be? My next project – get bookshelves.

    Now if you started doing that, how would I keep finding new things to read from your stock? LoL
    Shelves would be a bonus though, wouldn’t they? 😉

Leave a Reply

