How it Feels to Grow Up

Moments of life

Moments of life (via ??)

What they don’t understand about birthdays and what they never tell you is that when you’re eleven, you’re also ten, and nine, and eight, and seven, and six, and five, and four, and three, and two, and one. And when you wake up on your eleventh birthday you expect to feel eleven, but you don’t. You open your eyes and everything’s just like yesterday, only it’s today. And you don’t feel eleven at all. You feel like you’re still ten. And you are—underneath the year that makes you eleven.

Like some days you might say something stupid, and that’s the part of you that’s still ten. Or maybe some days you might need to sit on your mama’s lap because you’re scared, and that’s the part of you that’s five. And maybe one day when you’re all grown up maybe you will need to cry like if you’re three, and that’s okay.

That’s what I tell Mama when she’s sad and needs to cry. Maybe she’s feeling three. Because the way you grow old is kind of like an onion or like the rings inside a tree trunk or like my little wooden dolls that fit one inside the other, each year inside the next one. That’s how being eleven years old is.”

– Sandra Cisneros, Eleven

via: ~thoughtsdetained.tumblr.com

I love this picture

and now I’ve found words I love to go with it.

I can’t imagine finding any better words to fit than these and any better picture than this to illustrate the words.

Peace,

~me

3 Responses

  1. That was fantastic.

    I remember when I was about 16 my grandmother told me that one day I’d get up in the morning feeling just like I feel every other morning, I’d walk into the bathroom, look in the mirror, and wonder who that old man was looking at me through the mirror,

    Granted that there are days I just feel like a 16 year old that has been around for a very long time; wearier, perhaps, but not different.

    Thanks for the lovely post.

  2. i love your post today. and you’re right, perfect picture to the words…

    and i was always so confused when i was a kid (around 8’ish) and asked, how does it feel to be 9??? and had no answer, since what???? i feel the same as yesterday???? thanks for clearing all this up.

  3. sounds familiar .it is great being a kid at times make life easier .BUT just for awhile i hated school

Leave a Reply

