Perspectives from Brezny

From Rob Brezsny’s Newletter comes this nice way to start or finish the day!:

“If you’re really listening, if you’re awake to the poignant beauty of the
world, your heart breaks regularly. In fact, your heart is made to break; its
purpose is to burst open again and again so that it can hold ever-more
wonders.” —Andrew Harvey, *The Return of the Mother*

And then he offers a bit of experience and wisdom about remembering the Big Picture, which was the topic this morning. I’m not going to declare it officially a “theme” yet – its too soon! But keeping perspective real seems to be coming at me from all different directions! hmmm….

…I’m especially fond of focusing on the *very* big picture
when divine chaos is whirling around — like now. It helps keep me humble,
and discourages me from any temptation I might have to believe I know
the Whole Truth about anything, let alone about the mysterious long-term
processes at work in the evolution of the human race.

There’s another factor that makes me cautious about getting embroiled in
partisan politics and the narrow-minded hostility that fuels it. One of my
main goals in life is to love everyone with passionate intensity — no
exceptions. Not just the people I find beautiful and helpful and interesting
and attractive. But also the people I don’t like and the people who don’t
like me and the people I disagree with and the people who can’t or won’t
do anything for me.

In order to become the gorgeous genius I aspire to be, in order to fulfill
the unique destiny I came to Earth to embody, I have to hold EVERYONE
in my heart with compassion and empathy. As I contemplate how every
single part of creation is interconnected, I’ve got to be aware that the
creatures I’m allergic to and inclined to feel alienated from are also part of
the great web of life.

That’s my spiritual goal; it’s essential to awakening my best self and
cultivating an  intimate connection to Spirit. It’s also my selfish goal; it’s
critical to my physical and mental health. Hatred always sickens me. Love
always invigorates me.

Ya’ll have a good evening and I’ll see you on the morrow!

Peace,

~me

2 Responses

  1. Oooooh I like! Thanks. Needed it!! I especially like the first quote.

  2. well said…
    i am struggling how to remind folks they are forgiven, and to live and behave accordingly (both them and me) – this post “hold EVERYONE
    in my heart with compassion and empathy” is super insight.
    Someone said (Meister Eckhart I think) “Hold something lovely in your heart.” Now what is more lovely than compassion and empathy!

Leave a Reply

