Wednesday’s Shiny Things

Here are a few Bits and Pieces of Blogosphere that made me grin today. Yesterday slipped past too quickly and I spent what little time I had on the computer re-loading the 5000+ files onto my iPod (long story).

First, this was the Word of the Day:

Shhhhh....

Shhhhh....

slugabed: one who stays in bed until a late hour.

Hmm… I may resemble that remark – Particularly on SATURDAY and SUNDAYS!!

Then, I went to visit Rick Mobbs’ blog because, well, I love his blog! 🙂 It was delightful, meaning that reading it, I was filled with DELIGHT!

it’s true

I just get better and better looking. Thanks, Virginia Jones, for sending this little portrait, a memento of our Grand Canyon rafting trip. Photo by Mike Jones or Liz Willey.

In the beginning, when we were still made of mud, and pieces of ourselves were always falling off, it was necessary to live close to water. Running water was best. Still water makes smelly mud, and we would be too easily stalked if we were to leave smelly droppings as we walked to and fro across the earth. Red mud was the best of all, because it was the oldest, ground from the most ancient stone to the finest dust and therefore an aid to memory, for we were an old people, the oldest people, and too easily did we forget our origins. We saw that often, especially upon the veldt but also far to the arid, mudless north. Straggling remnents of once vital families and strong tribes, mud slatherings fallen away, soft skin the color of sand, dry grass, dark water, shadow, or sunset clouds; peppered with bug bites and burned by the sun and worst of all, no memory of who they were, where they came from, how they came to be, and no idea of where they were going. Sad people with vacant eyes, lost in the bewilderness, but lessons to us all.

Then, as luck would have it, Mr. Mraz (who a few of you may have noticed I like to read as well as listen to!) who is on tour in Europe posted to his blog:

with repeat workdays it’s easy to get into a habit of form and think less about the creativity at the root of every decision we make. Sometimes, rather than try to make a home in a new community for a few short hours, I just keep busy cultivating new words and energies, satisfied by the big fat ambitious picture. One that is fueled by passion, is sacred and abundant, and doesn’t deny any of the truths, like the weight of common sadness.

The big picture is alive and well and it relaxes where it has for more than seven hundred years.

Then I stumbled through Cherish Me’s Blog. This got me to laughing so hard I had to move away from the computer to compose myself.

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa – It wasn’t just the caffeine that gave an Iowa woman an extra jolt after she had her morning coffee. It was also the bat she found in the filter. The Iowa Department of Public Health says the woman reported a bat in her house but wasn’t too worried about it. She turned on her automatic coffee maker before bedtime and drank her coffee the next morning. She discovered the bat in the filter when she went to clean it that night. The woman has undergone treatment for possible rabies. Health officials say that the bat was sent to a lab but that its brain was too cooked by the hot water to determine whether it had rabies.

Oh, hell no.

True story. I once discovered a comatose baby mouse in one of my flower pots. Out on my porch. So, I put on a garden glove, took him into the kitchen, and then spent a good fifteen minutes reviving him. Hand fed him cheese. Made baby-talk with him. Just generally loved him back into existence. And how did God reward my kindness to nature? He rewarded me by having my baby mouse spread his wings and cling to my garden glove like white on rice. This resulted in an immense amount of screaming on my part coupled with frantic running about my apartment — live bat clinging to hand — until I hurled it, glove and all, into the football field next door.

My lesson learned here? None. Zero. Zip. I’m an idiot. I’d do it again tomorrow with a comatose bear if the situation presented itself.

Yep. Wednesday has been a most interesting day!

Peace,

~Me

2 Responses

  1. you an me both. the mouse/bat/bear that is….

  2. funny stuff – thanks for the non communicable disease referencing laughter!
    🙂

Leave a Reply

