Surfeited Celebratory Saturday

Saturday is going to be interesting! Not that every day isn’t interesting, because they are, especially around here at Dysfunction Junction!

Tomorrow morning I am meeting c.a., Michele, and another friend of ours to go and shop for dresses. Specifically, c.a. asked we three to be in her upcoming wedding. We will be “bride’s matrons” (note: it’s ONLY due to the fact that we’re all married that we get to carry the title of “matrons” – it is definitely not a reflection on our personalities or emotional maturity!) So we’ll meet and hit a few of the shops in town to see if we can find some coordinating dresses (note: NOT matching, per se, just color-wise coordination)

“So what?”, you may ask. I may have mentioned my gimpy back. Lately, heading off to do anything like walking around in a store is okay, as long as I limit how much time I spend doing it. I usually start flagging about an hour into it and by the two hour mark, I need to be not there anymore. (horizontal is preferable, but not always possible!)

I’m a little worried about how I’ll do. This is probably one of those things that I tend to worry about for nothing – much ado about nothing! I’m really excited to be going and have been looking online for some ideas (note: found some too), and more importantly, I’m looking forward to spending some time with “the girls” πŸ™‚ . We never get to get together anymore, or at least it’s become harder to, so hanging out will be alot of fun!

Usually when I’ve been out and about, I come home and lay down, apply heat or things of that nature, until I begin to feel ready to move again. Tomorrow, however, I don’t know that there’ll be time to. I’ll be loading up my car and driving for a couple of hours to go visit my oldest and dearest friend Brooke, who is turning the big 4-0 tomorrow. πŸ™‚ I’m hoping by the time I get there, I’ll have rejuvenated and can help her celebrate into decade number 4 with proper fanfare and harassing. What are friends for, if not to harass and give some $hit to?

We’ve been friends since we were 4. (Awwww!!) I know, I know…

Brooke (left) and me (goofy kid on right) at my 5yr old birthday party at Farrell's Ice Cream Parlor

Brooke (left) and me (goofy kid on right) at my 5yr old birthday party at Farrell's Ice Cream Parlor...LOVE the hats! πŸ™‚

She wants to have a low-key evening, maybe go stay at a nice hotel without kids, go get dinner, etc. It should be fun (we always have a great time when we get together!) hanging out, remembering the misadventures of our youth, all that good stuff! Hopefully the day won’t wipe me out and we can enjoy the night! I’ll try and post a pic or two when I get back.

So, with ALLLLLL that in mind? I better get to snoozing!

See ya’ll on the morrow!

Peace,

~me

3 Responses

  1. what cute girls you both were. it’s nice to have a friend for so long, with whom you’ve shared so much. it doesn’t happen often. and enjoy the shopping too, as much as you can!

  2. We’ll be fine. We won’t keep you out too long. Making mental note about the back and telling myself to not over do it for Shiny. Yes, we are not going to over do this today. πŸ™‚ I won’t allow it. The store called me yesterday and my dress is in. I’d like to go by there today sometime and show it to everyone. I’m thinking we go to that one store where we are meeting, then to the store where my dress is, then..well…i don’t know. Dillard’s? And that is all I can think of.

  3. Dysfuntion Junction what’s your function? Creating more chaos and making it run right…..
    (sung from sasame street…I loved that show!)

    Your back will be fine….your are spending the morning with the girls;)

    I love the pic of you and Brook, you look just like Mare Mare!

    It was SCHOOLHOUSE ROCK, not Sesame Street! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

