Spark of the Divine

Rob Brezny’s newsletter I received today began with these quotes:

“By means of all created things, without exception, the divine assails us,
penetrates us, and molds us.
We imagined it as distant and inaccessible,
whereas in fact we live steeped in its burning layers . . . This palpable
world, which we are used to treating with the boredom and disrespect
with which we habitually regard places with no sacred association, is a
holy place.”
-Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, *The Divine Milieu*

“Let the body think of the spirit as streaming, pouring, rushing and
shining into it from all aides.”

-Plotinus

Reminder? Theme?

Yes!

This morning one of the many things brought up around a topic of “staying in the moment” (WONDERFUL discussion, by the way!) was this quote by Bill Wilson:

“I believe that deep down inside every man woman and child is the idea of God…”

THEN, much later in the day I was reading while sitting in my car in a parking lot, waiting for my son:

For a long time, I’ve wondered why I felt like bowing when people showed their appreciation for the work that I’ve been privileged to do. It’s been a kind of natural response to a feeling of great gratitude. What I’ve come to understand is that we who bow are probably-whether we know it or not-acknowledging the presence of the sacred. We’re bowing to the sacred in our neighbor.

You see, I believe that appreciation is a holy thing – that when we look for what’s best in a person we happen to be with at the moment, we’re doing what God does all the time. So in loving and appreciating our neighbor, we’re participating in something sacred. As I bow, I always feel like saying, ‘Thank you, thank you, thank you’ … ~Fred Rogers

I love that idea and agree completely. Looking for the best in somebody. Staying in the moment AND looking for the best. A sacred action, inspired by the divine. It’s what my Creator does all the time. It’s what I can aspire to remember.

The first time I ever truly conceived of that concept was when I was listening to (ironically) to Jason Mraz sing a song he credited as being written by Kahlil Gibran & himself called “God Moves Through You”:

believe not God is in your heart, child/ but rather you’re in the heart of God

How cool is that?

Peace,

~me

3 Responses

  1. essentially it is as simple as looking at the positive side of things, isn’t it. there’s good in every bad, an upside to every downward swing, it’s the law of nature…

  2. Remember I said it was a theme and I keep seeing and hearing the same theme?
    This was in my inbox from Angie:

    “The nobler sort of man emphasizes the good qualities in others, and does not accentuate the bad. The inferior does the reverse.”
    — Confucius (551-479 BC) Chinese Philosopher

    To the best of my knowledge, she doesn’t visit this site, so its serendipitous 🙂

  3. someone IS telling you something…

Leave a Reply

