Sweet Home Alabama

Living in Alabama, the most often heard song played at celebrations and live events (next to “Freebird” of course!) is “Sweet Home Alabama”. Its a song we grow up learning. I honestly think I knew all the words by the time I was 4.

I found this gem through my subscription to Dark Roasted Blend, weird and wonderful things through a link on their “Link Latte”.

I don’t think I have words for it. I don’t know if its that I’m speechless so much as gasping for air laughing.

‘Nuff said. Enjoy …(?)

*the details, as such, were these:

Back in the days of the Soviet Union, the Soviet Red Army had an official choir composed of male soldiers and musicians.  It still exists.  The Red Army Choir performs throughout Russia to this day.

Now consider the Finnish rock band called The Leningrad Cowboys.  A little while ago, they held a concert in Russia, in which – to the screaming applause of Russkie teen-agers – they got the Red Army Choir to join them on stage for a performance of “Sweet Home Alabama.”  In English.  You couldn’t make this up.

One Response

  1. LOLOLOL You find the best stuff. LOL

Leave a Reply

