Thoughts and Scopes

I just opened my emailed ‘scopes from Rob Brezny (I love his book PRONOIA IS THE ANTIDOTE FOR PARANOIA:How the Whole World Is Conspiring to Shower You with Blessings!) The beginning of all his newsletters begins with a quote and this week’s quote is this:

“The criteria for success: you are free, you live in the present moment, you are useful to the people around you, and you feel love for all humanity.” – Sri Sri Ravi Shankar

I like this quote because it contains within it my goals for every day. I have to admit, I’ve never equated it with “success” before, but I can see where living within these parameters would mean that at the end of the day, I could call it a success!

The rest of my weekly ‘scope was about perspectives and I’m a big believer in broadening my view by accepting different perspectives and trying to look at life through more than just my eyes. Since that is the theme (along with living in the present moment!) as of late, I thought I’d post it here too. I always read both my ‘scopes (sun and rising) together, so I’m posting them together too. What I get from reading these is a focus for me: they serve to remind me of how to shift my perspectives when I feel that life, on any given day, is wearing me down. 🙂

Aquarius Horoscope for week of March 13, 2008

Verticle Oracle card Aquarius (January 20-February 19)
“The composer Stravinsky had written a new piece with a difficult violin passage,” writes Thomas Powers, quoted in the book Sunbeams. “After it had been in rehearsal for several weeks, the solo violinist came to Stravinsky and said he was sorry, he had tried his best, the passage was too difficult, no violinist could play it. Stravinsky said, ‘I understand that. What I am after is the sound of someone trying to play it.'” Keep this story close to your heart in the coming week, Aquarius. It will give you the proper perspective as you, too, go about the work of doing the best you can at a task that is virtually impossible to perfect.

Rising (*BOLD is my own emphasis*):

Verticle Oracle card Gemini (May 21-June 20)
Before you attempt a quantum leap of faith over the yawning abyss, please remove your 500 pounds of defense mechanisms first. Your success in soaring the whole distance will require you to be free of emotional baggage. As long as you fulfill this simple prerequisite, I’m in favor of you risking the transition. It’s about time you summoned more zeal to follow the path with heart, even if that path resumes on the other side of the great divide.

 

*SACRED ADVERTISEMENT: I’m allergic to dogma. I thrive on the riddles. Any idea I believe, I reserve the right to disbelieve as well.

But more than any other vision I’ve ever tested, pronoia describes the way the world actually is. It’s wetter than water, stronger than death, and truer than the news. It smells like cedar smoke in early spring rain, and if you close your eyes right now, you can feel it shimmering like the aurora borealis in your organs and muscles. Its song is your blood’s song.

Some people argue that life is strife and suffering is normal. Others swear we’re born sinful and only heaven can provide us with the peace that passes understanding. But pronoia says that being alive on the rough green and brown earth is the highest honor and privilege. It’s an invitation to work wonders and perform miracles that aren’t possible in any nirvana, promised land, or afterlife.

I’m not exaggerating or indulging in poetic metaphor when I tell you that we are already living in paradise. Visualize it if you dare. The sweet stuff that quenches all of our longing is not far away in some other time and place. It’s right here and right now.

Poet Elizabeth Barrett Browning knew the truth: “ Earth’s crammed with heaven.”

* The preceding oracle comes from my book, PRONOIA Is the Antidote for Paranoia: How the Whole World Is Conspiring to Shower You with Blessings. It’s available at Amazon or Powells.

~me

Leave a Reply

