Music

Many people die with their music still in them.” ~Oliver Wendall Holmes

 

That, to me, would be such a great tragedy! To die with music still unsung in me

Throughout my life I’ve been fortunate to have had and lost many different types of muses.

Music is the one muse that has never failed to inspire and ignite me…

It never dies or is lost in life…

It resides inside me and is the breath for my soul…

It comforts me when I’m feeling bereft and adrift from the world around me…

It moves me when I feel the emotional intimacies that speak to a part of me that defies the need for language…

It makes me laugh and want to dance even when I am exhausted

by the world around me and the pain and suffering it often gives …

It can invoke a slow, sultry mood with a beat that awakens a rhythm inherent in me …

and it causes me to resonate, in a myriad of ways, the complexities of being completely and utterly alive – a part of each soul who has been touched and changed by the melodies.

As long as I have music inside of me, I imagine even death would be unable to silence the song that IS me πŸ™‚

~me

 

3 Responses

  1. Yes, I agree. I love the music too, although I will be the first to admit that I don’t know it the way you know it.

    However, I heard a song on the way into work this morning which made me crank the volume up to full blast; http://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/maroon5/makesmewonder.html

    Jusalil diddy to myself. Heh.

  2. Oh, and I meant to ask you, can I get a copy of that “one” picture you took of me from the party. You know the one, I’m “leaving over and gritting my teeth.” LOL

  3. Um, that would be “LEANING OVER” not leaving over. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

